

Basic Law: The Judiciary

This Basic Law was first legislated in 1984 and later amended in 2023. The law specifies judicial institutions, their authority, and their appointment and relation to the state and that the High Court of Justice shall be located in Jerusalem.

Chapter A: Basic Provisions

1. (a) The following courts are vested with the power of adjudication:

- (1) The Supreme Court;
- (2) A district court;
- (3) A magistrates' court;
- (4) Another court designated by law as a court of law;
 - (b) The power of adjudication is also vested in the following:
- (1) A religious court (beit din);

Chapter B: The Judges, Appointment of Judges

- 4. (a) A judge shall be appointed by the President of the State, in accordance with the selection of the Committee for the Selection of Judges.
 - (b) The Committee shall be made up of nine members, who are the President of the Supreme Court, two other justices of the Supreme Court chosen by their fellow justices, the Minister of Justice and another Minister assigned by the Government, two Members of the Knesset selected by the Knesset, and two representatives of the Bar Association, selected by the National Council of the Association. The Minister of Justice shall be the Chairperson of the Committee.

Chapter C: The Courts, The Supreme Court

- 15. (a) The seat of the Supreme Court is Jerusalem.
 - (b) The Supreme Court shall hear appeals against verdicts and other rulings of the District Courts.
 - (c) The Supreme Court shall also sit as a High Court of Justice. When so sitting it shall deliberate matters, in which it deems it necessary to provide relief for the sake of justice, and are not under the jurisdiction of another court or tribunal.

The full Basic Law can be found <u>here</u>.

